Just content to be a son

Greetings friends and fellow bloggers. Tonight I would like to share a third poem which has long held special meaning for me. It is called Just Content to be a Son by George Warnock. I do believe I have shared this poem on the blog before but, like Paul said to the Philippians, perhaps it will do you some good for me to repeat myself once more. 🙂

By the way, the coming of the new blog title and design is imminent. Acquisition of the new theme has been made and all that is lacking at this point is the setup. Apparently these things are a bit trickier than I first realized. Either way, it won’t be much longer now. 

But without further adeiu, I give you Just Content to be a Son:  

Just content to be a son
With no ambition to succeed
In realms of earth, and have no need
Of popularity’s acclaim,
Or purchase for myself a name
In serving Christ; for He must be
The Lord throughout eternity.
To see His face and hear His voice,
And do His bidding is my choice.

Just content to be a son,
A son of God without a home,
To stay, or go, or wait, or roam…
Hither and yon without a plan,
Led of the Spirit, not of man.
I’ll have no monument of praise,
But I’ll have peace in God’s own ways;
And though I tread this earthly sod,
I’ll walk with Him, I live in God.

Just content to be a son,
Misunderstood, and yet I know
The path I take shall overflow
With life abundant and with grace.
I only need to run the race
With patience, waiting, seeing Him…
Hearing the still small voice within.
If others want the earth to quake…
I’ll hear His voice when I awake.

Just content to be a son,
No words to say… but what He says;
No work to do… but what He does;
No fear or worry, anxious care,
I live with Him, His yoke I share…
No name to make, He writes His own
Upon the heart’s pure glistening stone;
No life to live, I lay it down,
I’ll share His cross… and live again.
 

About Joshua

Writer, husband, father, friend. View all posts by Joshua

2 responses to “Just content to be a son

  • sybiljean

    YOU KNOW WHAT I THINK; SO MANY ARE JUST WRITING BLOGS THAT THEY THINK ARE IMPORTANT, BUT ARE ACTUALLY NOT OF THE SPIRIT; BUT ARE OF THEIR OWN DESIGN. THIS ONE IS “EFFECTUAL”; BUT HOW MANY WILL ACKNOWLEDGE IT…I WISH THAT OTHERS WOULD WRITE BEFORE THEY TYPE…

  • Josh

    Thanks for the encouragment, Sybil, and I’m glad you benefit from my posts.

Leave a Reply

