The practical benefit of a meeting where every member supplies

“Speaking the truth in love, we are to grow up in every way into him who is the head, into Christ, from whom the whole body, joined and held together by every joint with which it is equipped, when each part is working properly, makes the body grow so that it builds itself up in love.”-Ephesians 4:15,16

Where there is a real priesthood of believers gathering together regularly to minister to the Lord and to each other, each member of the Body is pressed to know the Lord in a real and living way.

If I come to a meeting each week where there is no pastor or “minister” present to do the work of ministry that all the saints together are intended to do (see Ephesians 4), then I will be conscious every day of my responsibility to not come to the meeting “empy-handed” (see Deuteronomy 16:16,17).

If I know that I’m a member of Christ and that His full expression depends on my practical functioning as one of His Body parts then I will be driven to seek after and experience the Lord in such a way that I am filled with His riches, ready to share them with other brothers and sisters when we meet.

This is just one practical benefit of meetings where every member supplies something for the building up of the Body. There are many more. 🙂

About Joshua

Writer, husband, father, friend. View all posts by Joshua

10 responses to “The practical benefit of a meeting where every member supplies

  • Duane Cheryl Czaicki

    Brother tonight we had our second saturday fellowship meeting. Last week we had one person it was great. Tonight met with six people and if you count the kids there were thirteen. Every corner I turned there was a chance to share Christ. It was awesome. And to think, at the begining of the week I was so discouraged. The Lord is so good even when we don’t believe Him He comes and meets us.

  • Katie

    Today was such a great time of fellowship…one of those times when I didn’t even have a chance to share something I had planned because there was so much expression of Christ amongst everyone! Such an awesome experience.
    Duane that is so awesome!

  • Josh

    I agree, Katie, today was a great time together! May the Lord give us more and more!

  • Josh

    Duane,

    That’s awesome to hear man. Keep pluggin away. Sometimes it will take everything you have to not believe the effort is wasted and nobody really cares. But that is when the vision is proven in our hearts. It’s like the song we learned at Ashland Woods:

    “Though I grow weary, my Lord,
    Can’t deny what I see
    This vision of Christ in my heart
    Keeps on driving me!”

  • Bill Otis

    Right on Josh!

  • Josh

    Bill! Thanks for the comment brother. How are saints in Toledo?

  • Stefan

    1 cor. 14 is a chapter on “each one has” and “each one can build up”. Praise the Lord, as members of the Body of Christ we can all function! Just as the physical members of our body need to be exercised and function normally, so it is in the Body of Christ – no matter “how insignificant we think we are”, or how “small a portion we think we have”, once we enjoy the Lord Jesus in His Word, we can also bring our portion to the meeting with the saints! Praise the Lord!

  • Josh

    Amen, Stefan! “Never think that your Christ is small; Christ needs you and so do we all!”

  • a God-man in Christ

    wow, amen, brother, “my going on is for you – your going on is for me; not separate entities: I need you saints desperately!” What a great song…

  • Josh

    I agree, God-man! Very good song, one of my favorites.

Leave a Reply

