Practicing stillness

“Be still, and know that I am God.” (Psalm 46:10)

For myself, I have found there are certain practices which help me to be aware of and realize my union with God through Christ. One of them is to practice being still at certain moments throughout the day. It doesn’t matter where I am or what I’m doing; when suddenly I am reminded of the Lord’s presence within me, it becomes the sweetest thing in the world to me to stop, quiet my thoughts, turn my heart toward Him, and be still. If only for a moment-a split second, even-I am brought to such a sense of the Lord Jesus. In that moment I touch the Lord, I taste and see that He is good, and I savor the moving of His life within me. What joy! What privilege! What glory!

I can tell you for a fact that it was a moment of incomparable worth when I first discovered this place within me-which is Spirit-where the Lord dwells. I had always held it to be true in theory, but never really considered the fact that when Paul said “if we live in the Spirit, let us also walk in the Spirit”, he was talking about something experiential.

What about you? What are some practices you find beneficial in helping to bring you to an awareness and realization of your union with God through Christ? I would be thrilled to hear some of your thoughts on this matter, as well as your own experience with the Lord.

About Joshua

Writer, husband, father, friend. View all posts by Joshua

3 responses to “Practicing stillness

  • alan

    45 minutes on my local park (Victoria Park, Leicester) every day, 6-00am. That’s ‘my place to be’ regardless of weather. Very uncharacteristically for me, I pray through the Lord’s Prayer interpreting it into my current thinking….the Lord always ‘turns up’ and so begins my day….it works for me!

  • Michael Young

    Mine are about the same, really. But there are times when different things seem to help me more. Sometimes it is Scripture, others it is prayer, sitting in silence, saying His name, or just calling a brother up and talking about Him.

    Good post.

  • lawdawg23

    Sounds like a great way to start the day, Alan! If I had that kind of daily opportunity I would avail myself of it as well.

    And Michael, I agree. There are so many way to touch the Lord. He is wonderfully rich!

Leave a Reply

