Just content to be a son & the reason for the lull in blogging

I know, I know. Here I go and promise more frequent postings on this blog and then just as suddenly I disappear. Well, I have my reasons. Aside from being monumentally busy these days (between work, church life, family life, and a massive bathroom renovation), I’m also stuck between Internet connections at the moment. Don’t worry, though. I hope to have all connectivity issues resolved shortly. Then back to posting. In the meantime, check out some of Alan Knox’s recent posts on itinerant servants (you may need to scroll back a few days to find them) and Frank Viola’s new blog entitled Beyond Evangelical.

Also, here for your reading pleasure is a poem from George Warnock called Just Content to be a Son. One of my favorite poems, it made a great impact on me during the time I was transitioning out of the institutional church.

“Just content to be a son,

With no ambition to succeed

In realms of earth, and have no need

Of popularity’s acclaim

Or purchase for myself a name

In serving Christ, for He must be

The Lord throughout eternity.

To see His face and hear His voice

And do His bidding is my choice.

 

“Just content to be a son-

A son of God without a home

To stay, or go, or wait, or roam-

Hither and yon without a plan,

Led of the Spirit and not of man;

I’ll have no monument of praise

But I’ll have peace in God’s own ways,

And though I tread this earthly sod

I walk with Him, I live in God.

 

“Just content to be a son-

Misunderstood, and yet I know

The path I take shall overflow

With life abundant and with grace,

I only need to run the race

With patience, waiting, seeing Him

Hearing the still, small voice within;

If others want the earth to quake

I’ll hear His voice when I awake.

 

“Just content to be a son-

No words to say but what He says,

No work to do but what He does,

No fear or worry, anxious care

I live with Him, His yoke I share

No name to make, He writes His own

Upon the heart’s pure, glistening stone

No life to live, I lay it down

I’ll share His cross and live again!”

About Joshua

Writer, husband, father, friend. View all posts by Joshua

5 responses to “Just content to be a son & the reason for the lull in blogging

  • alan

    Love the poem! Just about sums it up really….

  • Marshall

    wow, did you ever hit the nail square!

    being monumentally busy these days (between work, church life, family life, and a massive bathroom renovation)

    compartmentalized, categorical everyday living engineered by church & society to belay the simple Life of Christ in us and for our children.

  • lawdawg23

    Alan,

    Yeah, it’s a classic in my book. Helped me through some rough waters at one point in time.

    Marshall,

    Tis true. Cares of our living in this world can choke the life right out of us if we allow it. Fortunately, the kind of busy I’m experiencing right now has been a good kind of busy (if such a thing exists, that is). Or, at least I can say it’s a necessary kind of busy.

  • Craig

    Thanks for the poem Josh. It scratched right where I itched.

  • lawdawg23

    Glad to hear it, Craig. 🙂

Leave a Reply

