What’s so special about hanging window blinds?

Tonight I was blogging away, writing an article about some saints here in town and the work they’re doing to reach the drug addicts and prostitutes in our community, when my lovely, beautiful wife interrupted me to solicit my help in hanging some new window blinds she bought earlier today.

Now, things like this used to seem a whole lot more vain to me than they do now. I was one of those guys who thought the whole womanly, house-decorating thing was pretty well near pointless. I looked down on it as less than spiritual, to say the least. But in the past few years I have come to view this kind of thing in a whole new light. At some point I began to take into account the fact that the woman as well as the man is made in the image of God. And one of the ways my wife expresses the Lord in whose image she is made is in her desire to adorn our home in such a way that it expresses her unique personality and taste. I’ve come to see that this is part of the image of God which she bears, for He too is looking for a House in which to dwell, a House which He can take and renovate and make His own in whatever way He chooses, to the end that He might express Himself through it.

Such a beautiful thought, isn’t it? At any rate, it enables me to be a little more excited about hanging blinds for my wife, especially when it interrupts my more “spiritual” (?) activities. Oh well. We all know men tend to be a little more religious than women, anyway, now don’t we? πŸ™‚

About Joshua

Writer, husband, father, friend. View all posts by Joshua

8 responses to “What’s so special about hanging window blinds?

  • katie wehrheim

    nice Josh πŸ™‚ yeah…definitely more religious πŸ˜›

  • alan

    as I make a living here in the UK by selling and fitting window blinds..I’m with her! However, it is a wifely knack in (when the see us involved in something we enjoy doing) to invite us to help them in doing something they feel is important! After 42 years of marriage, it still astonishes me!

    May He continue to build His church…and lead us to those who are enjoying Him doing it..

  • Craig

    I love finding the sacred / spiritual in the mundane. I believe that’s what Christ was for us, the unexplainable, undeserved mingling of holiness with sin. I think my favorite example of this is the Lord’s Supper. He took a common meal and fused it with eternal sacred significance. Now every time I eat with my family or brothers and sisters in Christ, it’s not just dinnertime to feed my tapeworm πŸ™‚ that’s something much more beautiful going on that I have taken for granted more often than not.

    • lawdawg23

      Absolutely, Craig. The Lord Jesus was a walking mystery. Fully God and fully man, he was a perfectly natural human being and yet everything about Him was supernatural as well. The church, as His expression, will embody those same elements.

  • lawdawg23

    Alan, I assume that after 42 years of marriage I will still be astonished as well. πŸ™‚

  • lawdawg23

    And Katie, how did I know you would say something like that?

  • Patti

    You are my hero, Man of God!

  • katie wehrheim

    hmm…i don’t know πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

