Longing for the House of God

“How lovely is your dwelling place, O Lord of hosts!”

“My soul longs, even faints, for the courts of the Lord…”

“One day in your courts is better than a thousand elsewhere!”

“Only one thing do I seek, to dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life…”

All of the Psalms in their reference to the House of God have taken on a new meaning for me in the past few years. To know the Lord for myself is wonderful, but to know the Lord in the company of others in whom He is living and moving is even greater. How I long to be always in His House… to be constantly beholding the beauty of Christ I see etched in the faces of His saints. There’s just so much of Him to know that I will never know by myself. One member cannot contain all His fullness. But in the hearts and lives of those who possess this treasure in earthen vessels I find a Christ who is bigger and far more glorious than my wildest imaginations, and I am spurred on by such a vision to pursue Him with all my heart. And I say with the Psalmist-

“I would rather be a doorkeeper-the lowest and least esteemed member-in the House of the Lord than to dwell lavishly in the tents of wickedness!” (Psalm 84:10)

About Joshua

Writer, husband, father, friend. View all posts by Joshua

Leave a Reply

