death and dying

Recently my dad passed away. As I sat in the Hospice room where he lay, myself on one side of the bed and my brother on the opposite, a few thoughts came to mind. Here they are, short and sweet, for your consideration…

Death and dying represent a paradox to me. On the one hand, I don’t see how anyone in their right mind could ever think that death-with all its accompanying heartache, sorrow, and pain-could ever be natural. How could anyone experience the loss of a loved one and think that somehow this is the way things are meant to be? How could they go through something like this and not begin to question what went wrong with the universe so as to cause such an unnatural intrusion of death into life? And then begin to seek an answer to that question?

On the other hand, when I look at creation itself and observe the natural rhythms of life-the seasons, the harvest, plant life, ect.-it becomes equally apparent to me that death is written into the very bloodstream of the universe. Death, it would seem, is just as much a part of life as anything else. Only, it is no end in itself. Creation, even in its fallen state, testifies of one sure thing: Death is a precursor to resurrection. And with resurrection comes increase. In the plan of God, a thing only dies so that it might live again.

Either way, each of these views speak of something more than what can be found out by the five senses. They speak of something deeper and more satisfying than the answers we’ve had presented to us by the philosophers and professors of this present age. They speak of the One who embodies the truth that death is the necessary pathway to Life.

So I would encourage everyone reading this post, seek to know Jesus Christ. Seek to know Him in His fullness. Tear through the trappings of modern-day Christianity if need be and let your heart be captivated by what you see. I take to heart the words of C.S. Lewis: “If I find within myself a desire that nothing of this world can satisfy, then the most probable explanation is that I am made for another world.” This world of which Lewis speaks is not far off, nor is it reserved only for a future day. It is here and it is now, and the doorway into it is found in Jesus Christ. In fact, Christ is that Doorway. And it is flung wide open for whoever wants to enter in.

That is what my dad taught me in his life, and this is what he has shown me in his death. I can’t wait to discuss it with him further in his resurrection. 🙂 I am thankful that all things live and die and live again, not by chance or without meaning, but by the Lord’s own Word and steadfast love.

“Look! I show you a mystery: We will not all sleep, but we will all be changed… in a moment, in the twinkling of an eye, at the last trumpet. For the trumpet will sound, and the dead will be raised imperishable, and we will all be changed. For this perishable nature must put on the imperishable, and this mortal nature must put on immortality. When the perishable puts on the imperishable, and the mortal puts on immortality, then will come to pass the saying that is written: ‘Death is swallowed up in victory!’ ‘O death, where is your victory? O grave, where is your sting?’ ” (1 Corinthians 15:51-55)

About Joshua

Writer, husband, father, friend. View all posts by Joshua

2 responses to “death and dying

  • sarah

    your thoughts in themself are a testimony to your fathers life. as spring approaches once again, i think your comments are right on target. that while death is a part of this life it is not natural.
    BRING ON SPRING!

  • Tami

    Whenever I begin to think about and question your daddy dying, I read these words and God uses them to speak to my heart and show me the bigger picture. I am even more excited for Spring this year so when I watch all the beauty of nature come alive again, I will be even more aware that your daddy is alive again with our Lord, perfect in every way.

Leave a Reply

